Call that cost Broncos their game against Colts was correct, but Colts did same thing with no call
Sep 15, 2025, 5:26 PM | Updated: Sep 16, 2025, 9:00 am
If you’re a Denver Broncos fan trying to get over Sunday’s heartbreaking loss, this probably won’t help…
After the Indianapolis Colts initially missed a 60-yard field goal attempt as time expired, they were gifted a second attempt because the Broncos received a 15-yard penalty for using “leverage” on their kick defense. By the NFL rulebook’s definition of the penalty, outside linebacker Dondrea Tillman did commit a foul, and even Sean Payton said it was the right call.
However, Broncos kicker Wil Lutz missed a 42-yard field goal attempt in the fourth quarter of the same game, and if you look at the replay closely, it appears that at least three Indy defenders also used “leverage” based on the NFL’s definition of the rule.
Knowing that I likely sound like a scorned Broncos fan, which I am, I still ask: why would you call that on a game-deciding play and not any other time during the game?
See for yourself…
Look, the Broncos had multiple mistakes and shouldn’t have let it go down to the final play, and players should have been extra careful on a 60-yard attempt.
But if officials are going to call leverage, you can call it on countless kicks.https://t.co/X2DQRcJDoi pic.twitter.com/TclQLpU9ST
— Jon Heath (@ByJonHeath) September 15, 2025